Why Your Lifetime Friendship Matters?

Are you enjoying FB’s “friendversary” reminders?

One thing I learned about friendship.

When you got good friends, life is great.

It’s interesting to observe. People will have a window to your self by the kind of friends you keep.

1. Choose Your Friends Carefully. 

You don’t choose who you parents are, but you can choose your friends. Do it with discernment.

An ancient proverb says, “The righteous choose their friends carefully, but the way of the wicked leads them astray.”

In fact, elsewhere it also says, “Do not make friends with a hot-tempered person.

Why should everyone be cautious in making friends?

It’s because friends have immense influence in shaping a person, even one’s destiny.

You become who you spend the most of your times with.

As my close friend says, “Birds of the same feathers”–not just flock together, but they–“are the same birds.”

When you’ll learn their ways, friends could lead you to personal development or destruction. In fact, the phenomenon of peer-pressure and its consequences are self-explanatory.Screen Shot 2017-07-20 at 5.52.03 PM.png

2. Commit to Your Friends.

I know of some who I thought were my friends. But this particular person has notorious longtime friends. When I found out we have nothing similar. The person is actually more like his friends. We have to part ways.

Why do I have to let go of them? It’s because they could be ruined together or I would be ruined by them.

Have you observed the truthfulness this adage? “One who has unreliable friends soon comes to ruin, but there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.

While there are false friends pretending to be true (as long as they can use you), there are genuine friends you have to commit into.

I got very close and trustworthy friends who stick more than brothers. In fact, I consider them as part of my spiritual family.

These true friends were there through thick and thin. They know–and keep on knowing–me inside out. I cherish and commit to our friendships as they did too.

3. Call Your Friends.

True friends know you well–they also let you know when there are great moments for you to know where they are.

Do you have friends who visited your town and didn’t even called you? When you have the so-called friend who doesn’t bother to call you when she is just somewhere nearby, think again!

Friends let their friends know whatever good there is to know.

Interestingly, Jesus treasures friendship. When he chose his disciples, he developed that depth of friendship between them. For him, the disciples were not just his learners and students.

Instead,” Jesus said, “I have called you friends, for everything that I learned from my Father I have made known to you.”

Are you grateful for God’s gift of friendship in your life?

Are you building relationships where Christ is at the center and God is glorified?

As for me, friends are not only great gifts for life but demonstrations of God’s unconditional love.

May our friendships be an expression of God’s love for one another.

Glenn Plastina (c) 2017

Leave a Reply

