When Life Doesn’t Make Sense? 

When life doesn’t make sense, it’s time not to understand it.

Remember the last time you’ve lost someone you loved, you struggled to understand why? And all the condolences and comfort don’t seem to penetrate your heart because you feel confusingly numb?

I was there. I’ve lost loved ones and friends too.

So every time I have friends who struggled with life’s pain and chaos, here are the three things I keep.

1. Hold On.

In my long years of assisting people in pain, I observed that the most important thing to do is not to talk much but just to be there. It’s because no words are enough to ease the pain of a grieving, confused, and hurting person.

Let the heart express the pain, the river of tears flow, and lovingly listen in every way.

I may not fully understand everything about life, but this one thing I know. It’s not always like this.

Going through painful experiences is part of the process in life. A person sometimes goes through denial, numbness, bargaining, and anger. But soon he or she will get by.

It’s ok not to be ok.

Embrace the fact that life is not always fair. Times can be tough. But just hold on by.

Holding on helps.

2. Have a Little Faith. 

If you are in doubt, I still believe God understands your limited knowledge and shortcomings to trust. Avoid condemning yourself.

Don’t force yourself to have what you don’t have. Like someone who’ve lost a loved one, you too can pray for help in the midst of unbelief.

When life doesn’t make sense, no reasoning can appease the pain of the heart.

So when you come to point in your life where you ask, “Where is God when it hurts?”

He is there hurting with you, feeling your pain and sorrow.

3. Hope in God.

When you focus on your pain, your sight of God grows dim. But when you look up to God, the pain lessens. It’s a mystery, but it’s true.

Like the psalmist who cried out, “Why, my soul, are you downcast? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God.”

The truth is, without hope, there is no reason for living. No future. No meaning.

We all know time can heal.

There was a very painful moment I thought God was not good enough, but later when the confusing pain was gone, I looked back.

In those times when I thought God was not good, it was then His goodness prevailed.

Like Apostle Paul, I still trust. “For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” 

Would you take the time to reflect on these in moments when life doesn’t make sense?

Glenn Plastina (c) 2017

Leave a Reply

