My Top 10 Reasons Why I Follow Jesus

I belong to Jesus and I’m not ashamed of it.

I don’t buy the idea that I was born this way and I should die as one. So I reflect on the reasons why I decided following the Christ–and not anyone else.

Here are my top 10 reasons why I became a Jesus follower and believer.

1. Jesus Christ promises eternal life.

As a kid, I was afraid of death, tribulation, and hell, just like any other people. When I knew Jesus promised eternal life to those who believe in Him, I did not hesitate to trust Him. Who else can I trust than the one who conquered death?

2. Jesus saved me from my sins.

I’m a sinner by my very nature. I realized my shortcomings before God and fellow people. I’ve done things I’m not proud of. When I found Jesus’ offer of forgiveness for all my sins that gave me hope. After all, there’s no one else who suffered, died on the cross, and resurrected from the dead for those who believe, except Jesus Christ alone. As such, I received him as my personal Lord and Savior.

3. He also changed my life.

I tried to be good, but I can’t. I failed miserably. Knowing that I can’t transform my life on my own, by His grace and help, I decided to follow the Lord Jesus and become like Him everyday and in everyway possible. My life is a living testimony that God changes lives.

4. I followed because I discerned the call to serve Him.

Jesus invited, “Come, follow me.” When I submitted my life to His will, I’ve surrendered to His demands to “count the cost,” “carry the cross,” and “make disciples.” I’m a soldier of faith.

 

CIMG1650.jpg
The author beside the Sea of Galilee, Israel, where Jesus invited his discipes to “Come and follow me.”

 

5. Because of who He is, I follow.

The more I know Him through the Scripture, the more I’m amazed at His words and claims like no other man ever made. The more I wanted to make Him known as the Savior for all who believes. He is the superlative of everything to me.

6. Because of what He says He would do, I follow.

I love Jesus’ teachings and actions. He also will judge the living and the dead, even those who don’t believe on who He is, what He says and does.

7. He leads. 

I followed Jesus because He is a benevolent ruler and master. As for me, “Jesus is Lord.” I’m passionate to be like him in life and leadership.

8. He modeled an exemplary life.

I wanted to live a well-rounded life, growing in every aspect. I followed Jesus because he unconditionally loves and lives within people’s heart.

9. Jesus gave meaning to my life. 

Like Apostle, I too can say, “For to me to live if Christ and to die is gain.” For me, Jesus is the reason for my entire existence. So I follow for I came to realize He’s everything to me.

10. He loved me.

This is the greatest motivation I have, understanding that I am well loved. He loved me first before I ever loved Him. That’s why my life’s existence is best described in this statement of Apostle Paul:

I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.

I’m not religious. I just love Jesus Christ.

So whom do you follow? And why?

Glenn Plastina (c) 2017

Leave a Reply

