How Can I Be Saved?

When I was a kid, I asked myself. “If I die today, would I go to heaven or not?”

I’m reminded of a jail warden who almost committed suicide. When a person stands face to face with death, you can’t help but ask serious questions.

Let me guide you through the story and find the answers before it’s too late.

1. Realize the Fact of Your Mortality.

Trust me. When you see some people who died because of sickness, gunfight, accidents, or old age, it reminds me that all will face the reality of death.

The truth is, life is going to end. It’s not a matter of whether it will happen or not. It’s just a matter of when.

The Roman jailer I mentioned awhile realized this also. He woke up after a terrible earthquake. When he saw the prison doors opened and assumed the prisoners escaped, he attempted to commit suicide. But Apostle Paul called his attention not to do so and gave him hope.

The jailer rushed in and fell trembling before Apostle Paul and Silas. It was a close call.

Did you have a near death experience or some close call before?

2. Raise the Question on Your Spirituality.

In my experience as a pastor, when people see their helplessness and hopelessness in the face of death, they immediately usually see their spiritual needs, not just the physical condition or close calls.

In fact, while writing this blog, we’re experiencing turbulence at 40,000 feet above sea level and you could see some people would pray!

Well, one of the greatest questions in the Bible about spirituality and eternal destiny was made by the unassuming jail warden. “Sirs, what must I do to be saved?”

For me, the greatest question one could ever make in his entire life is to take a close look within yourself and ask the same. What should one do in order to have salvation?

The answer cannot be far.

3. Receive Jesus Christ.

Paul and Silas replied to the Roman jailer, “Believe in the Lord Jesus, and you will be saved—you and your household.”

To believe means to “accept as truth.” While some would make having faith as a cognitive assurance of faith, it actually involves having the feeling of certainty of the truth.

As such, to believe in Jesus Christ means to trust Him with your whole being for your salvation. It involves trusting Him with all your heart, mind, might, and spirit–everything that you have.

To receive Jesus does not mean to receive the bread and wine. In fact, the jailer and his family did have a meal together with Apostle Paul, Silas, and the jailer’s family, but according to the Scripture, “he was filled with joy because he had come to believe in God—he and his whole household.

Friends and folks, anyone has the right to believe in whatever they want to. One can even disbelieve in anything whether true or not. But this truth in the Bible won’t change even if one believed or not.

Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved.

April 22, 1987, I was 12 years old then. I made the greatest decision ever in my life. By God’s grace and inner working, I decided to accept Jesus Christ as my Lord and Savior.

How about you–when did you receive the gift of eternal life that Jesus offered?

Glenn Plastina © 2017

Leave a Reply

