Why I Love Israel?

I’m a Filipino. I love my country, but I also love Israel. And I’m never ashamed of it.

Ever since I was a child, I dreamed of going to Israel—and possibly live there someday.

If you’re not into it yet, I’ll show you why.

1. Read The Bible.

As a kid, I held this code. If you want to know the real God, just look to the God of Israel. Before I finished high school, I repeatedly read the whole Bible for myself.

The whole Bible is almost entirely written within that Promised Land to the Jews. That’s why it is called the Holy Land, the situation of life and context of the Bible.

Israel is mentioned more than 2300 times in the Bible, while Jerusalem is more or less 800 times. I wonder why some religion claims Jerusalem as their own that in fact it’s not even mentioned once in their scripture?

The fact is, Israel is the where the Patriarchs, Prophets, and heroes of faith dwelled. Above all, it’s where Jesus Christ lived and proclaimed the Good News.

I encourage you to read the Bible for your own sake. Ask the Spirit of God to help you know Him, the world, humanity and Jesus Christ through it.

Meditate on it. When someone tells you, “you’ll get crazy” or you need their supplemental “holy book” when you read it, be careful.

The Bible is written for ordinary people like you and me. My love for Israel grew out of reading the Holy Bible.

2. Revisit (or Visit) Israel.

I often encourage my friends. Make it your lifetime dream to visit Israel. I live that dream.

I even put it in My Dream Board (now Dream Book), placed a travel tours poster on my wall. All of these were to remind me of that inmost longing to walk where my Savior walked.

A few years ago, I saw a travel-to-Israel video. I boldly declared, “One day, I will go there.” My friend who owns a school heard me and said, “Hmmm, if that will happen, I would like to ask God why His blessings run after you!”

After several days, someone I know offered me to join their team to tour the Holy Lands for almost three weeks, all expense paid!

Being in Israel was one of the most joyful days of my life! And I love to be back soon.

3. Raise Your Awareness.

I believe Jerusalem is the axis mundi or center of the world for both Jewish and Christian faith. In fact, many consider it as the epicenter of world events.Many theologians and pastors understand that Israel is the key

Many theologians and pastors understand that Israel is the key to understanding the fulfillment of the prophecies in the Bible.

Stay informed. Find some credible information about Israel to strengthen your faith.

I stay connected with what’s going on there through the social media access of Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu, Joel Rosenberg, Christians United for Israel, and the like.

Above all, offer a prayer of King David. “Pray for the peace of Jerusalem! May they be secure who love you! Peace be within your walls and security within your towers.”

I can’t help it. But every time I see a Jewish person or community, I simply declare inside my heart and whisper, “Shalom, the Lord bless you, oh chosen ones.”

If you want to be blessed, bless Israel. This is the God of Israel’s promise. “I will bless those who bless you and curse those who curse you.”

I just thank God for he used the Philippines to bless Israel become a nation. As a Filipino, I’m proud of such national legacy.

Glenn Plastina © 2017

 

CIMG2505
Glenn Plastina, overhwelmed by the presence of God at the Wailing Wall.

 

 

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Wow, na challenge ako dito. Thanks Ptr. Glenn,gusto ko rin makarating sa Israel. Mas maganda ma experience ang tinuturo.

    Like

    • That’s true, indeed, Ptra. Connie. When you visit the Holy Lands, you’ll have a better perspective and grasp of the Bible accounts. Make it your life goal to be there and you’ll never regret it. It’s a life changing experience for me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

