Do You Need Inner Healing?

I was in pain. I experienced being used and abused by some people I trusted. The sense of painful betrayal of being exploited was real.

At the top of my game, intellectually and academically, I was berated like a mere high schooler. Socially mocked, I was emotionally wounded and spiritually discouraged. In fact, due to stress, I acquired a physical sickness that nearly crashed my health down the drain. It’s very traumatic.

To sum it up, I have the choice to be bitter or better. I chose the later.

And so can you. But how?

1. Forgive. 

Down and out, I was on the road to recovery when I met again my mentor, the Rev. Jerry Lepasana. Exploring a new field in the ministry and learning from his vast experience, I learned a lot about forgiveness and trust. You can forgive but it doesn’t mean you can trust those persons naively.

I’ve been hurt severely in several times. But when I look back, forgiveness is still the best route to inner healing.

Name the person who wronged you; make a decision to forgive. As Christ says, “For if you forgive other people when they sin against you, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. But if you do not forgive others their sins, your Father will not forgive your sins.”

If a person chooses to forgive, he or she allows God’s blessings and inner healing to flow through; but if the person chooses not to forgive, it blocks the blessings and fills the heart with bitterness and burden. It’s your choice.

2. Free Yourself.

I learned in life that if you forgive, you open your life to inner freedom.

Forgive yourself and don’t allow unfair treatment to enslave you with hatred, fear, and unbelief. Allow time to let the pain go away. For if you are angry at someone, you’re a slave to that person.

If you want to set yourself free towards inner recovery, then don’t allow any shackles of resentment on anyone imprison your spirit, future, and potentials.

It could be that these people wronged you to make your life right. I tell you. You can’t have the right life if you’re with the wrong people.

3. Find Peace. 

Be at peace with God. He is the God of healing. If your heart is not right with God, you can’t be right with others, even with yourself.

As St. Paul puts it. “And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

Be at peace with others. “If it is possible, as far as it depends on you, live at peace with everyone. Do not take revenge, my dear friends, but leave room for God’s wrath, for it is written: ‘It is mine to avenge; I will repay,’ says the Lord.”

Be at peace with yourself. Inner peace is more than the freedom from stress and anxiety. It also includes the understanding and assurance that God is with you in this life journey and full recovery. That’s the real peace of mind and comfort for all.

Furthermore, finding peace may involve finding new friends who’ll help you through. Just remember, if some people wronged you, it is because they’re not the right ones for you. God has just exposed their true colors.

But keep those friends who treat you right and lovingly listens–not just to your pains and sufferings but–to your hopes and dreams. Not only that, bless your friends who assured you of God’s forgiveness and power to overcome the pains within.

I’m very thankful for those friends who allowed themselves to be God’s eyes to see our pains, ears to listen to our cries, mouth to tell us the truth and grace, hands to lead us to the right path, and heart of compassion to encourage us when we were down.

How about you? Do you feel the need for inner healing? You can still choose to be a better you.

Glenn Plastina (c) 2017

Leave a Reply

