How I Lost 2​3 Pounds Without Exercise?

Warning. This is not a medical advice. I don’t guarantee that you’ll also have the same effect as mine. I’m just telling my recent story this month.

After I stayed in the US for five-and-a-half months, I gained more weight. I reached 196 lbs. and my sugar shot up to 280. I was sluggish, sleepy, and slow.

After coming back to the Philippines, my baby girl used to hug my tummy, rub her round cheeks, and whisper, “Fluffy, fluffy, fluffy.” Then, three months later, my girl would say, “Noooo, the tummy is gone!”

A lot of people asked me how I lost 23 pounds in just three to four months, looking younger and also healthier, without medication, supplement, and exercise.

Here are the three things I did that might help you.

1. Think About More Than Just Losing Weight.

I nearly reached that critical point. My hands were numb and fingers tingling. I often felt drowsy and tired. The doctor even said, “What are you eating for breakfast? Sugar?”

Then I began to think. What if I’ll continue to go straight through this road? What am I going to lose?

Thoughts of my family came in. I wanted to stay fit because I love to see my family happy. I envision seeing my kids going to college, marry, and have children. Of course, I see myself celebrating fifty years with my wife, having grandchildren, and carrying them in my arms.

If it’s my time to die, I’ll accept it. But if I’m putting myself to an unnecessary risk and failure, that’s my responsibility. I took the helm of my life to regain my health and my life. This is more than just losing weight.

2. Take Time to Relax. 

Years before I went to visit the US, my health broke down because of work related stress I got from a disturbing experience. I lost emotional attachment to what I did in the marketplace, worse, I acquired Type 2 Diabetes. So much for work hazard, eh?

The only things I gained were experiential enrichment and compulsive overeating. My health was breaking down. However, I realized that if I’ll continue to live like that, I’m the loser.

So I learned to let go of the things beyond my control and forgive those who betrayed me and my family. I regained my inner peace with less stress, became joyful, smiled more, and made new friends. It did a huge difference.

3. Try Intermittent Fasting. 

As usual, I’m self-driven to do some research. I want to find out the root-cause of my health problems. Then I stumbled upon the “research works that work” of Dr. Jason Fung regarding “intermittent fasting.”

Why do Buddhists, Muslims, Hindus, and practicing Christians do fasting? Of course, there are spiritual reasons for it. But let’s say, what are the physical benefits of fasting? That’s where I’m amazed at the facts even in my additional research.

I gave it a try at least three times a week, no breakfast and lunch. Aside from water, I drink coffee and tea to suppress the hunger. I ate regular dinner at night with fewer carbohydrates.

At first, it was uncomfortable. But the more I did it, I become accustomed. It’s just like delaying immediate gratification to gain long-term benefits.

Amazingly, intermittent fasting helped me lose weight from 196 lbs to 173 lbs. It also lowered my sugar count on the levels from 95 to 120. Not bad for a try!

Now, I feel light-headed, sharper in thought, physically stronger, and more excited with life. Thanks to intermittent fasting.

I don’t know where you are right now, but I’m confident you have choices. Yes, you can do the right things for the right reasons with just the right results.

And by the way, thanks. Jason Fung! Truly grateful.

Glenn Plastina (c) 2017

Leave a Reply

